2016 July 18: Slowly getting back to work

20160709_081616[1].jpg
yes- 54 feet of usable tree (has to be at least 8 inches diameter at 44 feet for me to consider using it. This one is 8 inches at 54 feet).
I got the stitches out on Monday. Went in to my doctor- vertically- and had them take the stitches out. My knitting scissors were too big to do it myself. Had to endure my doctor trying to strong-arm me into getting a tetanus shot. Originally, I wrote a big, long post on why I don’t think it’s necessary, and then decided not to post it.  Instead, let me just summarize: If you believe in tetanus shots and vaccines, good for you. If you don’t: also, good for you. Here are a bunch of studies on Tetanus that may open your eyes a little.

Meanwhile, that afternoon, I’m back at the property, and I’m able to (barely) use my chainsaw to buck the trees (cut off the branches of the ones that are on the ground). It hurts my finger after a while, and I don’t have a good grip. But I’m thinking of using the branches for rail supports for the wrap around porch. With Southern Yellow Pine, there are a lot of branches if the trees don’t grow close together. Saving the branches solves two problems:

  • I get free wood for ballusters and rail caps.
  • Once I get done pulling out the big ones, the brush pile is just scraps and is much easier to clean up.

I worked on it for about an hour and a half, until I tore the wound on the finger a little and it started to bleed again, so I had to quit.

Tuesday, I had to fix the bathtub faucet- replaced the handles. We are trying to do as little as possible to this house until we move out. Then, Wednesday, I was driving up over the mountain, and the temperature gauge on my car started rising. I quickly pulled over because on Saturday, it did the same thing, and I couldn’t find any leaks, so I thought it was just an air bubble. I ripped the hood open so I could find the leak quickly- and saw a hairline fracture on the radiator. Darn. Well, at least it wasn’t the motor. I hypermiled it home so I didn’t burn up the motor and fixed it.

This car is a little Honda I bought from my wife’s ex for $400, who said it couldn’t be fixed. He was partially right- the engine had been burned out of oil, and threw a rod through the bottom of the block. It was fixable- for $300 for a crankshaft, $300 to weld the block, $300 for a rebuild kit…so I found a replacement motor (from a 2001) in Chattanooga for $400 and dropped it in. A 1999 Honda Civic with VTEC for $800 isn’t bad, I’d say. I picked up a radiator at the parts store for $75 and dropped it in back at my house. It went in quick- about an hour. Then I went back over the mountain to work some more on clearing the branches. I’m working slow, but I’m working.

Published by

brianhill

Just a regular guy from Utah, now living in Alabama, involved in life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

One thought on “2016 July 18: Slowly getting back to work”

Leave a Reply

