Walk towards the Light

A little crazy this week. We made an offer on the land, and they wouldn’t budge on the price. The other realtor was claiming that there is a septic system on the property. Wha??? It wasn’t disclosed on the MLS info. I called the county health department, but since there are no utilities, and never have been, there is no address. She gave me the address of the property on that road (there are only 4) that had a septic system installed recently. I ended up having to drive out there to verify. This is a big deal. Our payments on the loan would be nearly $200/month, which doesn’t leave much left over for the cost of building. We wanted payments down in the $120/month range. On the way there, I’m praying to God, “Ok, if we are supposed to buy this property, let it all work out. But if not, please let it be something big, because I think I’m spiritually hard of hearing.” I pulled onto the property and took some pictures of what I thought might be some kind of septic system piping. Then I try to find the neighbor again. But this time, the neighbor wasn’t home.

Last time I was out there, I remembered the neighbor telling me that the mother of the guy who was selling the property lived just through the trees, so I decided to walk over there and ask her about it.

walktowardthelight

Got more than I bargained for.  I walked through the trees, ended up walking through a sod farm, then back into the trees, and came out in someone’s backyard. I heard voices from a shed covered completely with a blue tarp, so I said, “hello!”

A guy comes out- it’s him! M.C., the guy accused of murdering his wife. He looks kinda scary and shifty, but proceeds to talk my ear off for an hour. He’s my age. He didn’t kill her, he says- someone else did, and he knows who- it’s the guy that accused him. But the police granted the other guy immunity to talk, so now he can’t be charged. The more we talk, the more comfortable I get- M.C.’s daughter and her friend come out of the shed and say ‘hi’. He’s been married 8 times- 2 of those to the same woman. M.C.’s parents live in the home, but he smokes, they’re about to die and are on oxygen (thus the tarp covered shed in the backyard), he has 3 or 4 houses that he owns- Chatanooga, Florida, California? etc, about 10 pieces of property around the area. He gave his daughter 3 acres for her 18th birthday. The guy isn’t poor. So he’s talking about the property- he bought it to be close to his parents before they die. He’s actually making payments on it to another guy who sold it as a buildable lot. While he was in jail accused of murder, he missed a payment, so the owner is trying to foreclose. But the lot itself is not actually buildable- failed Perc test twice due to high water table- just 18″ below ground. He’s already spent $20,000 on improvements. Cost to bring in fill dirt to build up the elevation to allow a septic system? $38,000. Cost to bring in utilities? $12,000 for power, $8,000 water, so they have a court date next week. M.C.’s attorney thinks it’s an open and shut case.

Do we need to go on, or is this a spectacular answer to a prayer? “…But if not, please let it be something big, because I think I’m spiritually hard of hearing….”

‘Can you hear me now?’

‘Yes, God. I heard you. Thank you for using a megaphone. ‘

Keep looking.

Published by

brianhill

Just a regular guy from Utah, now living in Alabama, involved in life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.

Leave a Reply

